Tuesday, July 7, 2009

The Captain's Bride by Lisa Tawn Bergren

Elsa Anders's dream of marrying Peder Ramstad is about to come true. But as this independent, strong-willed woman discovers her own creative gifts--a love for travel, painting, and the sea--can she find happiness with a captain who insists upon leaving her safely on shore?

Leaving their home in Norway behind, Elsa and Peder embark on a new life in with their closest friends, including: Kaatje Jansen, a woman seeking a new beginning for the sake of her marriage and for the child growing within her; Elsa's sister Tora, a sly young vixen who knows exactly what she wants--and exactly how to get it; and Karl Martensen, a man torn between his friendship for Peder and a forbidden, secret love for Elsa, a man tormented by emotions that threaten to ruin them all.

From the gentle hills of Bergen, Norway, to the rocky coast of Camden, Maine, and across the crashing, danger-filled waves of the open sea--experience an epic saga of perseverance and passion, faith and fidelity, in the Northern Lights series: the new historical series by Lisa Tawn Bergren.

Lisa Tawn Bergren is a very talented writer! She can transport you aboard a sailing vessel bound for America, and you will feel the wind in your hair and smell the awful stench of sickness as you walk into the hold. She will also make your heart soar as love blossoms, and tears fall as betrayal destroys hearts.

Once again, I'm proud to realize the great sacrifice that was made by those who risked their lives to come to this country and help build it into the great land that it is today. If you love historical fiction, then there is much, much, much to enjoy about this book!

And, better still, this is part of Multanomah's value fiction line, so you can pick up a copy for only $6.99! So please, check out the great value fiction titles offered for Summer reading. I know you will be glad you did!

Lisa Tawn Bergren is the author of eight novels, including Refuge and Firestorm. The Captain’s Bride is the first book of the three-book Northern Lights Series, preceding Deep Harbor and Midnight Sun. She and her husband, Tim, reside in Colorado with their children.

Here are the other titles in Multanomah's value fiction line! Visit their website to learn more!

Tommorrow’s Treasure (ISBN-13: 978-0-307-45808-7) by Linda Lee Chaikin
The Silver Sword (ISBN-13: 978-0-307-45809-4) by Angela Elwell Hunt
The Veil (ISBN-13: 978-0-307-45807-0) by Diane Noble
Under the Distant Sky (ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-245-3) by Al and Joanna Lacy
A Promise for Breanna (ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-244-6) by Al & Joanna Lacy
Maire (ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-256-0) by Linda Windsor
A Gathering of Finches (ISBN-13: 978-1-60142-247-7) by Jane Kirkpatrick

1 comment:

Mocha with Linda said...

Sounds good! (I was wondering which books you got!)