Wednesday, September 24, 2008

When the Soul Mends by Cindy Woodsmall

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

When The Soul Mends

WaterBrook Press (September 16, 2008)


Cindy Woodsmall


Cindy Woodsmall is a veteran homeschool mom. As her children progressed in age, her desire to write grew stronger. After working through reservations whether this desire was something she should pursue, she began her writing journey. Her husband was her staunchest supporter as she aimed for what seemed impossible.

Her first novel, When The Heart Cries, released in 2006 to much acclaim and became a Christian Book Association best seller. Cindy was a 2007 ECPA Christian Book Award finalist, along with Karen Kingsbury, Angela Hunt, and Charles Martin.

Her last book, When the Morning Comes, hit the New York Times best-sellers extended list and the Christian Book Association best-sellers list.

Cindy’s real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families enrich her novels with authenticity.

Cindy, her husband, their three sons and daughter-in-law reside in Georgia. Her husband is a registered land surveyor and a vice president at an engineering firm. Their oldest son has a bachelor’s degree in nuclear medicine and works at a local hospital. Their second son and his wife are both students at the University of Georgia. Their teen-aged son keeps the household energized with his love of music, books, and writing.


Returning to the home she fled in disgrace, will Hannah find healing for the wounds of the past?

After receiving a desperate and confusing call from her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community of her Pennsylvania childhood.

Having fled in disgrace more than two years earlier, she finally has settled into a satisfying role in the Englischer world. She also has found love and a new family with the wealthy Martin Palmer and the children she is helping him raise. But almost immediately after her arrival in Owl’s Perch, the disapproval of those who ostracized her, including her headstrong father, reopens old wounds.

As Hannah is thrown together with former fiancĂ© Paul Waddell to work for her sister Sarah’s mental health, hidden truths surface about events during Hannah’s absence, and she faces an agonizing decision. Will she choose the Englischer world and the man who restored her hope, or will she heed the call to return to the Plain Life–and perhaps to her first love?

If you would like to read the first chapter of When The Soul Mends, go HERE

“A skillfully written story of forgiveness and redemption. Woodsmall’s authentic characters illustrate beautifully how wounded souls can indeed be mended.”
Susan Meissner, author of The Shape of Mercy

“Like the stitches on a well-loved quilt, love and faith hold together Cindy Woodsmall's When the Soul Mends, the brilliantly written third story in the Sisters of the Quilt series. With deft plotting and characters that seem to jump off the page, this novel offers the timeless truth that forgiveness is the balm which heals all wounds and a blanket for the soul.”
Kathleen Y’Barbo, author of Beloved Castaway

“What a vibrant, strong, emotional story! When the Heart Cries will grip you and not let go, I promise. Highly recommended!”
Gayle Roper, author of Allah’s Fire and the Seaside Seasons series

“Reaching deep into the heart of the reader, Cindy Woodsmall pens a beautifully lyrical story in her debut novel When the Heart Cries.”
Tamera Alexander, bestselling author of Rekindled


Nevertheless is a powerful word when placed inside the context of God’s promise that all things work for our good and His glory. Cindy Woodsmall’s final book in the Sisters of the Quilt Series – When the Soul Mends – is a story of hope and healing that beautifully satisfies the definition of nevertheless.

Without a doubt, you really must read the first two books in this series to fully appreciate the final installment of this series. The “nevertheless” letter is one written by the main character, Hannah, in the second book When the Morning Comes. The back story preceding this powerful message is both heartbreaking and hope-filled. When Hannah is called to return to her home community where, it seems on the surface, that her life fell apart, she has matured enough to reach past the pain and heartache that still exists some two years after she left and help her ailing sister Sara and her best friend Mary.

Through Hannah’s selflessness, others find healing, and still others find forgiveness – even Hannah herself. The lives of God’s children are often painful and heartbreaking as we journey through this fallen, sin-filled world. However, in God’s time, as we listen to His voice and follow His leading, we come to understand just as Hannah did that He is working things out even amid the pain. We come to understand that sometimes it is the pain and heartache that molds us into His image so that we may fully love others – nevertheless.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough!! Please go here to read my review of the first two books in this phenomenal series. Then, stop by here and purchase your own copy today! On Friday, pause in your reading and come back to my Window for an interview with this fabulous author!

No comments: