Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Murder Is No Accident by A.H Gabhart - REVIEWED

About the Book:
One body may be an accident. A second body means murder.
The old Chandler place should be empty. The magnificent Victorian mansion is for sale, even if its aged owner Miss Fonda doesn't realize it. But when real estate agent Geraldine Harper enters the house on a sunny October day, she's not alone. Minutes later, there is a body at the bottom of the steep steps leading to the tower room.

Deputy sheriff Michael Keane is called in. At first blush, it looks like the death was a tragic accident, but clues point to foul play. And when a second body is discovered, the race is on to find the culprit . . . before someone else dies.

If you like your small-town America sweet and quirky--with a dash of sinister--you'll love this latest whodunit from deft storyteller A. H. Gabhart.

My Thoughts:
Life was often messy. So was death”  (p. 55)

Michael Keene’s job as Deputy Sheriff in Hidden Springs is usually as quiet and peaceful as the town’s name implies.  However, there a secrets buried that folks want to remain secret.  What motivate some to greatness motivates others to evil, and Michael Keene is responsible for unraveling motives behind multiple murders before anyone else suffers harm.

A. H. Gabhart writes cozy mysteries that I find thoroughly entertaining but not so intense that I lose sleep!  Her characters are realistic and well-developed so that you come to care about them during the course of the story.  There is a love interest that simmers beneath the surface, and young-adult characters that add a touch of innocence to the sometimes morbid reality that can be called life sometimes.

I enjoy the fact that the interplay between the lives of the Hidden Springs residents are realistic and the author doesn’t sugar coat the reality of health issues or family dysfunction. This could happen in Anywhere, USA.  You will feel right at home among the residents of Hidden Springs, and you will want to return for another visit soon!  

About the Author:
Ann H. Gabhart is the bestselling author of several Shaker novels--The Outsider, The Believer, The Seeker, The Blessed, and The Gifted--as well as Angel Sister, Small Town Girl, Love Comes Home, Words Spoken True, and The Heart of Hollyhill series. She lives with her husband a mile from where she was born in rural Kentucky. Learn more at

No comments: