Saturday, May 29, 2010

A Matter of Character by Robin Lee Hatcher - REVIEWED

“Father in heaven, whatever am I to do now?” (p. 93)

This question – whether directly or indirectly - comes up a lot in Robin Lee Hatcher’s final installment of The Sisters of Bethlehem series, A Matter of Character. In this story Daphne McKinley (sister to Morgan McKinley introduced in A Vote of Confidence) is secretly making her dreams come true as the author of ten dime novels that are based on a the life of a local scoundrel some years past. She really doesn’t depend on the money she earns from publication as she is an heiress of some mean, so she is happily enjoying her dream of writing and trying to meet the publisher’s deadlines. Well, she seems happy on the surface at least. When Joshua Crawford comes to town and takes over as managing editor for the local newspaper, dear Daphne has her world upended in ways she never imagined possible! So does Joshua for what it’s worth!

I have TOTALLY enjoyed this wonderful trilogy, (A Vote of Confidence, Fit to Be Tied) and I’m a little sad to see it end. However, I can tell you that this last book of the series really is a lot of fun and includes some rather unexpected twists and turns in the plot that only serve to further endear these characters to the reader. You see, Joshua isn’t in town for the reasons everyone thinks he is, and Daphne isn’t really representing herself to the town very honestly either. As secrets are revealed and lives begin to change, you are able to clearly see God working out His plans in the town of Bethlehem Springs, Idaho in ways folks ever dreamed possible!

So what are you waiting for?! Join the fun! Pick up a copy of The Sisters of Bethlehem series!! It will make for hours of wonderful summer reading!

Robin Lee Hatcher ( is the author of sixty novels, including A Vote of Confidence, When Love Blooms, Wagered Heart, Return to Me, and Catching Katie, named one of the Best Books of 2004 by Library Journal.

1 comment:

Mocha with Linda said...

This was such a fun series!